Superficiality! The curse of our age!

Richard Foster writes,

” Superficiality is the curse of our age. The doctrine of instant satisfaction is a primary spiritual problem. The desperate need today is not for a greater number of intelligent people, or gifted people but for deep people.

Psalm 42:7 reads,’Deep calls to deep’. Perhaps somewhere in the subterranean chambers of your life you have heard the call to deeper, fuller living. You have become weary of frothy experiences and shallow teaching. Every now and then you have caught glimpses, hints of something more than you have known. Inwardly you long to launch out into the deep.”

7 responses to “Superficiality! The curse of our age!

  1. Those words ring so true to my heart.
    What I do, What I say, What I am, should come from the centre core of my being.

    I refuse to accept the superficiality in my prayers,my meditation, my worship,fellowship, As the psalmist encourages, to plunge into the deep. Trusting God, depending on His grace to guide n protect , I wanna dive into the deep.

    Jesus, Help me!

  2. Even me Arun it is so true of me as well . I just keep yearning for more ,at times I just feel maybe I am going into the extremes but I am sorry I cannot help it, I just need more and more of God and His presence . I get so challenged actually whenever I read this Psalm, you know panting, in a dry thirst land mmmm sososo deep . If we want deep things of God we have to search in the bottom drawer and this can only be reached when we get on our knees not organising but agonizing ,very true may God help us!Its shame but we church of today take it as old fashioned but we forget Jesus same yesterday today and tomorrow never changes at all and His principles too!Lord ahve mercy

  3. Arun Quote:
    I refuse to accept the superficiality in my prayers,my meditation, my worship,fellowship, As the psalmist encourages, to plunge into the deep. Trusting God, depending on His grace to guide n protect , I wanna dive into the deep.

    How true Arun! This was something that struck me sometime back. We sometimes (and here again I’m talking of myself first and then other people!) get so superficial with God in prayer, in worship in fellowship… we get so superficial with others around us and I thought to myeslf.. what’s the point of it all… What is the point of being superficial? What is the point of saying things to appear good and nice?
    And that’s when I made a decision to try my best to no longer be that way… to mean everything I say… to mean everything I do.. And it’s hard. I don’t think we can do it without God’s help.

    I do really want to dive into the deep and am waiting excitedly for God to take me there…

  4. Yes, we need to experience the cry fom the Father’s heart that the Holy Spirit brings deep into our own spirit

  5. for arun n dorcas n vero n sujatha..

    still having immig probs..thnx..

  6. Esther,

    Rom 8:28.
    We ll continue to pray for you Esther.

  7. yes we will esther..

Leave a Reply

