Lets discuss about Prayer!

Its Sunday Church Yesterday, My Pastor, Gary spoke on ‘Prayer’. He made perfect sense. I was really made to see how much I can get if my eyes are open and my heart willing to receive the teaching of my pastor. I loved it when I heard it.

Many times, I find myself going in search for formulas and patterns to approach God, assuming that He is not of aware of me makin it up. I thought I have to start my prayer in such a way and end in such a way. I have to use some words just for the sake of it. But what I realised is, That makes me to go to prayer in a religious manner. And since its done out of duty, it doesnt connect with God but was reduced to a routine ritual. So sometimes I lose interest in it. It is not what God intended right?

So, Here we are starting a discussion on ‘Prayer'( Personal Prayer):

To start with, We ll kick off with Matthew 6

The chapter Matthew 6( in message translation) was an awesome truth.

5“And when you come before God, don’t turn that into a theatrical production either. All these people making a regular show out of their prayers, hoping for stardom! Do you think God sits in a box seat? 6“Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace. 7“The world is full of so-called prayer warriors who are prayer-ignorant. They’re full of formulas and programs and advice, peddling techniques for getting what you want from God. 8Don’t fall for that nonsense. This is your Father you are dealing with, and he knows better than you what you need. 9With a God like this loving you, you can pray very simply.

Come on! Lets try to help each other in understanding the prayer!

Jesus, Bless this discussion, we wanna truly connect to you, as the disciples asked you, we pray ‘Master, Teach us to pray!”

FACTS About Prayer

  1. All men of faith in the bible, all superstars of the bible were men of prayer. They are prayer warriors of the God kind.
  2. One thought to think on: Jesus, the Son of God, never ever treated prayer lightly. That shows how much should we be into prayer?

7 responses to “Lets discuss about Prayer!

  1. what i know about prayer is that there is 2 kind of prayer ( perhaps more actually)..anyway one is personnal prayer ( talking to God in a one to one-chat; intimate talk.just as if you were chatting to ur best friends) and the other is interceding( praying for specific needs whether it is for people or ourseleves)
    that s all I can think of right now…

  2. I am glad that you specifically said the discussion is on personal prayer,(I agree with Vero this can either be personal ie.devotional/supplication or intercession.
    As for me there are many ways I communicate with God , to really say all the time I go into a secluded place ,mmm I will be lying at times I find myself walk-praying esp . if I have something so pressing on my mind or have just experienced God in a perculiar way ,I cannot stop but just find myself talking to Him.

    At times when I am in the kitchen I just start or even when I think of someone in my world i just talk to God about him/her or if I encounter some painful experience I cannot help it but I just myself telling God about it.

    There are however set times ie specific times when I have a standing appointment with God.Normally it is after my devotion ie in the morning or at a set time specific time set aside for communing with God. I do not know whether you would call this theatrical production etc etc If I am bored I tell Him or find myself crying before Him,If I am happy I tell Him also and if I am fearful.

    At times I find myself praying prayers of the bible ,for me I do not really want to call that a formular coz this particular prayer maybe during that season will be ministering to me in a mighty way. There is also a season of a certain song sings in my heart and speaks volumes to the situation I will be in and for me this is prayer as well!

    At times I do not really like to pray aloud but just find myself kneeling beside my bed and just focusing on God -I do it esp if I am seeking direction/wisdom/guidance from God !

    But there are also times that I really set apart to pray for those in my world and specific issues that pertain to me.

    By the way I also love participating in cooporate prayer big time I will never want to lie you beloveds . I suppose this is what is being talked about in this message version bible but believe you me I love it and find it very helpful in my Christian walk and esp those moments when I feel really dry -I normally come out encouraged!

  3. High Arun,

    Stopped by to see your Blog, thank you for inviting me. I’m not sure if I can do this often as the One-Year-Bible-Blog really keeps me busy in the Word. In fact, even before I joined the Blog, I was spending a lot of time journaling in my journals then I decided to put things on my computer.

    Prayer is such an intimate thing and too often, we do make it more about being seen by others then really communicating with God. My prayer for you is this,

    That you grow closer to God the more you study His Word. May God give you an unquenchable thirst that can only be satisfied by Him so that your utmost desire is to draw closer to Him

    I would like to share with you something I heard in a Master Opera Class (No, I don’t sing I was just sitting in). As the retired Diva corrected the singer she said,

    “Singing Opera is just like praying. It’s more about listening then it is about speaking,” In this case singing. After almost falling out of my chair upon hearing her remark, I marveled how God’s laws and principals can be seen in everything. So the Apostle Paul was clearly right when He said,

    For since the creation of the world his invisible attributes — his eternal power and divine nature — have been clearly seen, because they are understood through what has been made. So people are without excuse.
    (Romans 1:20.)

    I look forward to your posts on the One Year Bible when you have the time.

    Grace and Peace,
    Ramona

  4. yep dorcaas ..corporate prayer is very biblical…when 2 or 3 are gathered in my name I am in their midst..that s corporate prayer….it s in the BB so u should do it,
    it is really a simplw thing the more we are in a battle the stonger we are..2 is better than one n 3 is better than 2…so come on lets gather…

  5. Arun I ‘m sorry I think I missed the point looks like ,please do not be cross with me,It is like I ‘m out of topic , anywhere will get back to it and just talk about PERSONAL PRAYER and basing from Matt 6, hey will try again God help me

  6. oops I think I missed the point too..lol…arune be nice to me too…lol

  7. Dear Veronique, Dorcas and Ramona, Thanks for sharing. Share your insights in further discussions on prayer

Leave a Reply

