This article is so true! Be Inspired!

Friends, I came across this article by Jack Klumpenhower. Really Inspiring!

The Man Who Wouldn’t Speak

“That’s not what I meant,” I recently insisted to a colleague. He’d accused me of ignoring his side in a business matter, and I hopped to my own defense. I wanted to correct him and protect my reputation. But why? Thinking about it now, I realize how quick I usually am to defend myself.

Jesus is so different. Often in the Bible, he accepts personal attacks without any defense. The night before his death, on trial before the high priest, Jesus listened to witness after witness give false testimony about him.

The high priest stood up before the others and asked Jesus, “Well, aren’t you going to answer these charges? What do you have to say for yourself?” But Jesus was silent and made no reply. Then the high priest asked him, “Are you the Messiah, the Son of the Blessed One?”
Jesus said, “I AM. And you will see the Son of Man seated in the place of power at God’s right hand and coming on the clouds of heaven.” (Mark 14:60-62, NLT)

The high priest got angry, had Jesus beaten, and pronounced a death sentence.

How Jesus speaks

The story leaves me with two questions:

1. How could Jesus listen to so many lies without defending himself? I couldn’t do that.
2. How could he finally answer one question with such a brave burst of truth? I’d be too scared.

Perhaps both questions have the same answer: Jesus knows who he is in relationship with God. He knows he’s God’s Son. Look how he uses the divine name “I AM,” and Old Testament imagery of God’s king riding the clouds.

The reason Jesus doesn’t defend himself is because he doesn’t need other people to approve of him. He knows God approves of him. Who he is with God powers his life. It’s his only comfort and his greatest thrill. And it fills him so completely that, when poked by the high priest’s question, who-he-is-with-God erupts out of him. In one sentence, Jesus speaks more truth than all the testimony that came before.

How I speak

I’m still the opposite. I’m eager to defend myself but likely to duck out of telling the truth about God. I don’t have the willpower to change this.

But I have one place to turn. Jesus, who spoke so well, has given his Spirit to teach my heart—to teach me who I am with God. I am God’s adopted son. I belong to Jesus, who suffered that beating and death so that I may one day meet him when he comes on the clouds. Teach me, Lord, that I need no other approval, no self-defense, and no better name to speak.

Jack Klumpenhower is a writer living in Winston-Salem, North Carolina

4 responses to “This article is so true! Be Inspired!

  1. this is soooooooooo true…that sense of knowing who you are in christ with knowing that God loves you,are the most important things in a christian life..that gives you power..when u know God loves you,u dont need to beg for people`s “affection”,,and that makes u so secure in your life,but also knowing who u are in Christ ..oh dear..this is dynamite for a powerful christian living,,you are not affected by what people think of you ,say about you,see you ..it s all about what God says ,,,we become pleasers of God instead of being pleasers of Men,,,that makes us free,….and we are free indeed……….

  2. Arun I will come back to this, still meditating upon it

  3. so funny dorcas….

  4. Failed to comment on this one maybe it is because was not at the same level of thinking as you,but gleaned something for sure

Leave a Reply

